Gazette Drouot logo print
Lot n° 49

HAHN Reynaldo (1874-1947).

Result :
Not available
Estimate :
Subscribers only

AUTOGRAPHIC MUSICAL MANUSCRIPT, La Colombe de Bouddha, [1921]; one 146-page folio volume, bound in black cloth (worn binding). Orchestral score for this one-act opera. La Colombe de Bouddha, a "Japanese lyrical tale in one act," to a libretto by André Alexandre, premiered at the Théâtre du Casino municipal de Cannes on March 21, 1921, under the direction of the composer, who also conducted it in Deauville in the summer. The score was published by Heugel in 1921 (the manuscript bears the stamp of the Heugel Archives on the first and last pages). "M. Reynaldo Hahn has just given, at the Casino, his new work, La Colombe de Bouddha, a Japanese lyrical tale, which he composed on a poetic legend by M. André Alexandre. How the gardener Kobé, in love with a mousmee, died of love after seeing her go away to follow a wandering singer, this is the simple story that inspired Mr. Reynaldo Hahn to write a very fine melodic score, with modern instrumentation, colored in the manner of the slightly grimacing images of Japan. Presented in a very nice setting by Mr. Léon Devaux, tenderly interpreted and sung by the pure voice of Miss Raymonde Vécart, the engaging basses of Mr. Aquistapace (the gardener) and Mr. Vieuille (the monk), by the charming tenor Mr. Capitaine (the singer), La Colombe de Bouddha was worth to all of us numerous encores ". (Le Figaro, March 20, 1921). The manuscript, in orchestral score, is written in blue ink on 24-line paper, and presents numerous erasures and corrections, scratches and pastes (including p. 47 and 65 entirely redone). It was used as a conductor for the performances and bears annotations in red/blue pencil and black pencil). At the top of page 1, a title has been noted in another hand: Le Jardinier de la Pagode. The orchestral staff includes: small flute, 2 flutes, an oboe, an English horn, 2 clarinets in A, a bassoon, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, timpani, a harp, piano, percussion (triangle, crotales, cymbals, bell), 1st and 2nd solo violins, solo viola, violins I and II, violas, cellos, double bass. Bibliography: articles on the creation and performances of the work:

Auction's title
Auction's date
Auction location