Gazette Drouot logo print
Lot n° 42

gounod Charles (1818-1893).

Result :
Not available
Estimate :
Subscribers only

MUSICAL MANUSCRIPT autograph signed " Ch. Gounod ", Suite concertante en 4 parties pour piano-pédalier et orchestre, arrangement for piano-pédalier and piano (1886); 1 title leaf and 32 pages in-fol. bound in a half garnet brown volume. Manuscript of the transcription by Gounod of his Suite concertante for pianopedalier and piano.14 January 1886, Gounod gave to Alphonse Leduc, for 7.000 francs, the property of a Suite concertante with piano-pedalier, of which he was to give the manuscript on 7 April, then a reduction for piano of the orchestral part and a transcription for two pianos (which will be finally realized by Saint-Saëns). It is the meeting of the young and pretty Lucie Palicot, virtuoso of the piano-pedal, which incited Gounod to write a concertante work for this rare instrument, for which he composed three other works, and of which she is the dedicatee. Paul Landormy remembered Lucie Palicot playing: "the impression was strange of this very graceful and cute person perched on a huge case containing the low strings of the pedalboard under a concert piano resting on said case ; and above all, what surprised us, quite pleasantly in fact, was to see Madame Palicot dressed in a short skirt, knee-length, quite necessary, but astonishing in those days, and skirmishing very skilfully with her pretty legs to reach successively the different keys of the keyboard which she had under her feet, all similar to an organ pedal-board ". This Suite concertante [CG 526] was premiered in Bordeaux on 22 March 1887, during a concert conducted by Gounod, with Lucie Palicot at the piano-pedal: " I am delighted to have finally heard it ", he will say; it was performed again in Antwerp on 8 December, then in Angers on 6 February 1888. The four parts of this Suite concertante were given titles that do not appear on the manuscript: Entrée de fête, Chasse, Romance and Tarentelle. The manuscript is in black ink on 12-line paper, annotated and corrected in black pencil and blue pencil; it is signed at the end. The title page bears the dedication "to Madame Lucie Palicot", and the mention: "Arranged for Piano-Pedal and Piano by the author". The piano-pedal part is not always noted, with references for the engraver to the score. This transcription with a reduction of the orchestra for "piano d'accompagnement" was published by Alphonse Leduc in 1888 (the publisher has put his signature on the title page, with his ink stamp). The manuscript is divided into 4 parts (the movements were noted in blue pencil by Gounod): Moderato maestoso; Allegro con fuoco, then Andante con moto; Andante cantabile; Vivace. Attached is the autograph manuscript by Camille SAINT-SAËNS of the transcription of the piano-pedal part for piano, which will be used for the publication of the transcription of the Suite concertante for piano and orchestra by Alphonse Leduc (notebook of 24 pages in-fol. in a very neat handwriting with black ink on 16-line Lard-Esnault paper).

Auction's title
Auction's date
Auction location