Gazette Drouot logo print
Lot n° 31

AURIC Georges (1899-1983).

Estimate :
Subscribers only

MUSICAL MANUSCRIPT autographed by "Georges Auric", La Pastorale, ballet, (1926); 1 title page (torn) and 461 folio pages (35.5 x 27.5 cm). Orchestral score of the music of this ballet composed for the Ballets Russes. Georges Auric wrote the music of La Pastorale for Serge de Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, on an argument by Boris Kochno. The work was premiered at the Sarah Bernhardt Theater on May 29, 1926, with the orchestra conducted by Roger Désormière. The choreography was directed by Georges Balanchine, with scenery and costumes by Pedro Pruna, with Felia Dubrovska (the Star), Serge Lifar (the Telegrapher), Thamar Gevergeva (the Maid), Leon Woïdzikovsky (the Stage Manager). "A young telegrapher arrives by bicycle on a hot day at the edge of a river. In order to be natural, he hastens to get rid of his bag of dispatches and plunges into the wave that appears on the floor of the stage and a small piece of parapet. The Damsel appears, followed by other Damsels; she seizes the bag. Everyone dances a little step and leaves. The young Telegraphist gets out of the water and, lying down on the floor, but this time in front of the little parapet, falls asleep and becomes obviously invisible, since a film company bursting in to shoot a film can, without suspecting its presence, maneuver, build a set and engage in various exercises. The Star of the troupe and two actors appear. No such Star. Thereupon, the Telegrapher wakes up and sees the Star. No two. Then, the villagers, for whom the contents of the satchel stolen by the young lady earlier was intended, burst in and bring back the object of her theft. General dance and final departure of the Telegraphist by bicycle" (André Messager, Le Figaro, June 1, 1926). The manuscript is written in black ink on 32-line paper, with some corrections in red ink; it served as a conductor during the ballet performances. The orchestra includes: small flute, 2 large flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, trumpet, cornet, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion, xylophone, celesta, 2 harps, and strings. The score has 12 numbers, preceded by a prelude: Prelude (p. 1-5), Moderato; No. I (p. 6-62), Allegro commodo; No. II (p. 63-91), Andantino con moto; No. III (p. 92-102 [103-104 blank]), Moderato; No. IV (p. 105-151 [152 blank]); No. V (p. 153-189 [190-192 white]), Presto; No. VI (pp. 193-249), Allegro con brio; No. VII (p. 251), veiled drum roll; No. VIII (pp. 253-269), Lento ma non troppo; No. IX (pp. 273-283), Presto subito; No. 10 (pp. 285-341), Tempo di valz, peacefully; No. 11 (pp. 345-449), Moderato [p.449, this note : " wait until Lifar is on his knees "] ; N° 12 (p. 450-461), Moderato. Discography: Christoph Poppen, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern (SWR Music Hänssler Classic, 2010).

Auction's title
Auction's date
Auction location